Skip navigation (Press enter)

Destiny 2 The Final Shape: How to preload, expected downtime, and install size

The DLC is almost here

feature image

Destiny 2 The Final Shape is almost upon us, set to release on June 4 after a lengthy delay, with thousands of players eager to preload the expansion to avoid wasting time when the big day comes.

Bungie shared details regarding the install size of the Final Shape with the last This Week in Destiny blog before the expansion hits, letting players know all the key information they need to know ahead of the release date.

In this guide, we'll cover exactly when you can start preloading Destiny 2 The Final Shape, the expected server downtime, and how much space you'll need depending on your platform. Let's begin.

Destiny 2 The Final Shape preload schedule

body image

Depending on your platform, preload will start at different times.

PlayStation

All PS4 and PS5 will be able to start preloading The Final Shape on June 3 at the following times:

  • 10 AM PT
  • 1 PM ET
  • 5 PM GMT

If you have auto-downloads enabled, the update might become available to certain users as soon as June 1. If you don't know how to turn on auto-updates on your PlayStation console, here's how to do it:

  1. Set your console to connect to the internet while in rest mode.
  2. Go to Settings > Saved Data and Game/App Settings > Automatic Updates
  3. Turn on Auto-Download or Auto-Install in Rest Mode

You can manually check if you can preload the expansion by doing the following:

  • Navigating to Destiny 2
  • Pressing the “Options” button
  • Selecting “Check for Updates”

Xbox

Preloading will be available shortly after the expected maintenance starts on June 3 at the followimg times:

  • 10 AM PT
  • 1 PM ET
  • 5 PM GMT

Steam, Epic Games Store, Microsoft Store

Preloading will be available shortly after the expected maintenance starts on June 3 at the followimg times:

  • 10 AM PT
  • 1 PM ET
  • 5 PM GMT

You won't have to manually see if there's an update available with any of the PC versions, as the expansion will be automatically queued for download once it's available.

Destiny 2 The Final Shape expected downtime and maintenance period

body image

If you were thinking of leaving your grind to the very last day, you better get those BRAVE weapon god rolls fast as Destiny 2 will go offline for over 24 hours starting on June 3.

Here is the full timeline provided by Bungie

  • June 3, 2024, 10 AM PT (1 PM ET 5 PM GMT): Destiny 2 is brought offline
  • June 4, 2024, 10 AM PT (1 PM ET 5 PM GMT): Destiny 2 will be brought back online
  • Update 8.0.0.1 (The Final Shape) will be playable on all platforms and regions
  • June 4, 2024, 12 PM PT (3 PM ET 7 PM GMT): Destiny 2 maintenance is scheduled to complete

Destiny 2 The Final Shape install size

The install size and storage requirements for The Final Shape are massive, so you might have to uninstall a few games to make room for the DLC. Take a look at the full table below:

Platform
Destiny 2 Install Size
Storage Space Needed for Installation of Current Destiny 2 Players
PlayStation 5
143.81 GB
143.81 GB
PlayStation 4
110.70 GB
129.31 GB
Xbox One
139.52 GB
139.52 GB
Xbox Series X|S
165.82 GB
165.82 GB
Steam
155.50 GB
299.70 GB
Epic Games Store
144.61 GB
279.66 GB
Microsoft Store
156.22 GB
156.22 GB

If you're concerned about the large size of the Steam download, it's because the game needs to be downloaded twice. Yes, even if you already have it installed, attempting to preload The Final Shape will require the full Destiny 2 install size to be downloaded again. The upside is that once this process is finished, the game will shrink in size, freeing up some storage.

So there you have it, that's all you need to know about Destiny 2 The Final Shape preloads, downtime, and install sizes.

We have plenty of content to get you ready for the expansion, including a look at every new exotic in The Final Shape, all ability buffs and nerfs, and every weapon change coming with the DLC.

SiegeGG is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more about how readers support SiegeGG.