Skip navigation (Press enter)

Black Ops 6 timeline explained

Here's a closer look at the Black Ops 6 timeline

Image of Black Ops 6 Adler hanging onto arm of player
July 15th, 2024: We've updated our guide with the latest information on where Black Ops 6 fits into the Call of Duty timeline.

Understanding the Black Ops 6 timeline is key in order to understand the storyline.

Although Black Ops 6 is the sixth installment of the Black Ops series, its single-player campaign slots into the timeline at a different point. With Frank Woods and Russell Adler returning, fans are wondering where in the Black Ops universe the single-player storyline is set.

Without further ado, find everything about the Black Ops 6 timeline and how the title fits in with the rest of the Call of Duty universe.

Black Ops 6 setting

Call of Duty: Black Ops 6 is set in 1991. Confirmed in the Call of Duty blog, the game acts as a direct sequel to Black Ops Cold War which was set in the 1980s. The Gulf War will feature in Black Ops 6 in some capacity as it came to an end in the year Black Ops 6 is set.

Frank Woods is expected to play a huge role in the single-player story. He's adjusting to "a new role within the CIA" following the events of the Black Ops 2 story where Raul Menendez' attack left him in a wheelchair.

body image

Black Ops 6 timeline

With Black Ops 6 set in the 1990s, meaning Black Ops 6 is the fourth game in the series. Black Ops 2 is separated between two separate timelines which focuses on the exploits of Woods and Mason between 1986 and 1989.

Check out the full Black Ops timeline in the list below:

  • Black Ops: 1961-1968
  • Black Ops Cold War: 1984
  • Black Ops 2 flashbacks: 1986-1989
  • Black Ops 6: 1991
  • Black Ops 2 (future missions): 2025
  • Black Ops 4: 2040s
  • Black Ops 3: 2065

Is Mason dead in Black Ops 6?

Alex Mason is dead in Black Ops 6 alongside Jason Hudson, his handler. The pair played a pivotal role in the first Black Ops title which launched in 2010.

The lack of Mason and Hudson also confirms that Black Ops 6 is canon to Black Ops 2 which featured several endings.

That's all there is to know about the Black Ops 6 timeline and how it fits into the wider Black Ops storyline. For more, check out our other guides showcasing the leaked gun list and the perks expected to arrive in multiplayer.

SiegeGG is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more about how readers support SiegeGG.